The conditions on how to become a police officer in North Dakota are vastly identical with the requirements in other states in the US. In other words, the candidate must meet the basic prerequisites such as having American citizenship (or an alien resident status as stipulated by the Immigration and Naturalization Service), possess a valid driver’s license, have a high school diploma or equivalent and must not have been convicted or accused of any felony or misdemeanor.
However, applicants are also obliged to meet specific criteria for the ND state, such as:
- Pass a psychological and medical examination accredited by the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board
- Must not have been prohibited of carrying a firearm under state and federal law
- Undergo a thorough background investigation consisting of submitting two employment fingerprints cards from the state and federal record checks
Reciprocity with Other States
Under certain conditions, the Board may approve a waiver application from officers who are not residents of North Dakota. In general, the approval is given if the candidate meets the following requirements:
- Must be fully licensed and certified in the state of residence
- Have at least one year of experience working in the field
- Must be hired by an ND police department
- Posses a limited license by the Board
- Complete two weeks of training at the Basic Training session at the police academy in Bismarck
- Obtain a score of at least 70% on the academy tests
Requirements You Need Before Carrying Weapons in North Dakota
In order to carry a firearm, the recruits must undergo a written and practical examination. Both courses imply obtaining a score of at least 70%, should be tested by a certified weapon instructor and are not permitted to be taken more than three times in a twelve-month period. In case the recruit fails all three examinations during the aforementioned period, then he must wait one year before retaking the tests.
License Requirements for Police Officers in North Dakota
After graduating from the academy, the recruits will receive certification from the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board. However, the license is not permanent and needs to be renewed once every three years.
Officers are required to send the necessary documentation to the Board one year in advance to the expiration date. While a late renewal is possible within 31 days after the license expired, it is necessary to note that the ND Board does not provide a grace period.
Continuing Education in Becoming a Police Officer in North Dakota
Because the licensure of the ND law enforcement officers expires every three years, policemen must enroll in continuing education programs (60-hour duration). The programs that will be accepted for the certification renewal must be approved by the Board. Consequentially, recruits have the obligation to verify the program provider.
In the eventuality that the recruit has completed continuing education programs in advance, then he should present the proof of completion and the full curriculum of the program to the Board for evaluation.
For more information on becoming a police officer in North Dakota, visit the North Dakota Peace Officer Standards and Training Board website or call (701) 328-5529.
Click here to check out the various police officer jobs in North Dakota.