In order to learn the basics of how to become a police officer in Maine, a candidate must constantly verify the information regarding the requirements as presented on the websites of the police or criminal justice academy. Essentially, in Maine becoming eligible for the police academy comprises of being employed full-time in a law enforcement department or being accepted by as a tuition student in an academy.
Minimum Requirements to Become a Police Officer in Maine
- Must have a high school diploma or GED.
- At least 21 years old or…
- in case an applicant has an Associate’s Degree or 60 hours of college credits that requirement is lowered to at least 20 years of age.
- Should submit a medical certificate from the academy, signed by a licensed physician.
- Pass the physical fitness standards.
- Must have a valid Maine driver’s license.
- Is to be of good moral character.
Been found guilty of the following offenses:
- Bribery and Corrupt Practices
- Use of illegal drugs
Basic Law Enforcement Training Program (BLETP) Entrance Standards (40%)
|1.5 mile run||12:30||12:58||13:50||15:06|
|1 minute sit ups||38||35||29||24|
|1.5 mile run||14:50||15:43||16:31||18:18|
|1 minute sit ups||32||25||20||14|
Maine State Police Standards (50%)
|1.5 mile run||11:58||12:24||13:12||14:23|
|1 minute sit ups||40||36||31||26|
|1.5 mile run||14:04||14:34||15:34||17:19|
|1 minute sit ups||35||27||22||17|
Pre-service Training Program
Besides meeting the basic requirements (education and age), the candidate is obliged to finish the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Course. In short, the course is considered the minimum amount of education in Maine in order to carry a firearm on duty and have power of arrest.
The course can be found online and even though it costs around $250, the good news is that students do not have a time limit for completing this phase. Upon completion, the student will receive a JPMA certification and will have a 2 year time frame in which to enroll in the next phase.
The curriculum of the Main Criminal Justice Academy comprises of a total of 200 hours of coursework and training and it contains 3 basic phases:
- Phase 1 includes 40 hours of training topics (available online). The basic subjects covered by this training course include orientation, ethics, civil liability, traffic enforcements, report writing, driving dynamics, domestic violence, sexual assaults, child abuse and the procedures and laws of the state of Maine, and etc.
- Phase 2 incorporates 80 hours of interactive and scenario based classroom training where students will learn the methodology of managing arrests, crime scene processing, interview techniques, crash reporting, liquor law, civil liability, situational use of force, and etc.
- Phase 3 consists of 80 hours of supervision by the hiring police department or law enforcement agency.
Full-time and part-time police officers are required to participate in annual reevaluations in order to maintain their certification.
In 2012, all law enforcement officers must complete 2 hours of training in the following fields:
- Sovereign Citizenship
- MCJA Firearms Qualification
- Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs (Street Gangs)
- Law Updates
It is necessary to point out that officers hired after 1st of October will need to complete an additional 10 hours of training for the following year.
Besides the firearms qualifications and the new law updates, in 2013, police officers must complete 2 hours of training in the following fields:
- Social media
- Drug recognition/impairment and cultural diversity
- Biased based policing
For more information on becoming a police officer in Maine, visit the Maine state police website or call (207) 623-6739.
Click here to check out the various police officer jobs in Maine.