At the moment, the state of Connecticut has one of the most rigorous screening processes for law enforcement in the entire United States. This means that aspiring cadets concerned with how to become a police officer in CT should know they cannot personally submit an application to the available Police Academies.
To put it simply, the applications that will be considered are the ones issued by either one of the law enforcement agencies in the state or a chief executive officer. However, the exception to this rule is that a legal representative of a law enforcement agency or a probationary candidate can also apply.
This guide will bring you through the steps of how to become a police officer in CT.
Minimum Requirements to Become a Police Officer in Connecticut
- Applicants are required to have U.S. citizenship.
- Should be at least 21 years old.
- Must have a high school diploma or GED.
- Must possess a valid motor vehicle operator’s license.
- Should take and pass the written entry test.
- Can’t be found guilty of any felony, class A or class B misdemeanor or any perjury offense.
The Application Process
The reason for the legislation that mandates no private candidates are allowed to apply for the training provided by a police academy unless they are on probationary status with one of the agencies is basically due to the fact that the funding for these courses is provided by the state of Connecticut.
Therefore, training individuals who are not going to occupy a position in the police departments of the state is regarded as counterproductive. In addition to the contractual relationship with law enforcement agency, potential candidates also need to pass the employment prerequisites.
So, how to become a police officer in CT if you have not been hired by a police department? Well, the applicant must first analyze the available departments in the state of Connecticut and post an application to the one he is interested in.
The said law enforcement department will require the candidate to undergo a couple of medical examinations and tests (written) to determine eligibility.
Then, based on the result of the tests, the department will select a list of candidates, whose applications will be forwarded to the police academy, stating they have been hired to serve in the police department upon completion of their studies. In CT, the standard training sessions are referred to as POST.
The Learning Facilities
As mentioned, the POST training can be provided by one of the satellite learning facilities of the state police academy, but the most popular one by far is the academy located in Meriden. To put it simply, over 90 percent of the cadets have obtained their basic training in the said facility. However, training requirements for each police department varies.
Therefore, candidates need to adapt to the specifications of the department that hired them.
Graduating from the CT Police Academy Courses
These learning programs are roughly 22 weeks long, but it is necessary to remember that cadets will be stationed on the premises of Academy from Monday to Friday, 8 AM to 6 PM.
The courses include:
- 17 academic domains
- 12 practical skills applicable as police officer
Graduating from the courses hinges on the candidates being able to attain a score of over 70 percent on all the subjects for all these domains. It is plain to see that the learning requirements are quite steep in Connecticut, but that should not discourage applicants.
Moreover, in addition to graduating from the said courses, the cadets need at least 400 hours of practice within the law enforcement agency that hired them in order to obtain certification. Satisfying these prerequisites grants the cadet his initial certification as a law enforcement agent in CT.
It is important to note that the state of Connecticut mandates that this form of certification needs to be attained in the time frame of 1 year since being granted probationary status.
What Follows the Initial Certification?
First of all, let’s point out that the period in which the initial certification of a police officer is valid does not exceed 3 years. The certification issued by the council and which attests that the cadet has passed all the examinations and completed the practice in full will then need to be renewed.
During the time frame of the initial certification, the officer should attain the specified requirements, the minimal review training credit points and maintain his continuous employment in the department of law enforcement.
If he succeeds, than the authorities will proceed with renewing the certification.
What Happens If the Officer Fails to Renew His Certification?
Police officers who fail to meet the criteria that would entail the renewal of their specifications will not receive the new card with the extended expiration date. Instead, the first course of action taken by the council is to provide the officer with written notifications about the deficiencies that led to failure of the examination.
Should the law enforcement agent fail to address these issues in the specified timeframe, his employment within the unit will be terminated. For more information on How to Become a Police Officer in CT, please visit the State of Connecticut’s Department of Public Safety website.
Click here to check out the various police officer jobs in Connecticut.