The entirety of requirements on how to become a police officer in Alaska is not very distinct from the conditions imposed across the United States. Nonetheless, candidates and prospects are highly advised to constantly check the modifications that might appear on the Alaska Police Standards Council’s website, prior to their application.
The training required to become a law enforcement officer in the state of Alaska usually includes 400 hours of instructional courses in basic law and 40 hours of supervised field training. Students must attain a score of at least 70% on each instructional segment and 75% in use of firearms in order to become certified police officers in Alaska.
Minimum Requirements to Become a Police Officer in Alaska
- Must have U.S. citizenship or have resident status and has shown interests in becoming a citizen of the United States.
- Must possess a valid driver’s license issued within the U.S.
- Should be at least 21 years old when entering the academy.
- Should have a high school diploma or GED equivalent.
- Misdemeanor conviction within the last 10 years.
- Conviction for a domestic violation related crime.
- Two or more DUI convictions within the last 10 years.
- Convicted of a crime related to dishonesty and turpitude in the last 10 years.
- Used, transported or purchased illegal drugs (with the exception of marijuana) in the last 10 years.
- Marijuana usage in the last 12 months.
- Has been denied certification or have had a basic certification revoked by the Alaska Police Standards Council or another jurisdiction in another state.
- Has been fired from employment because of dishonesty or misconduct.
Physical Fitness Test
- Complete 25 push ups with a 3-inch block on the trainees sternum (a repetition is counted only when the push up is performed with a straight back).
- Complete 25 sit ups in a minute or less.
- Complete a 1.5 mile course in 15 minutes and 12 seconds or under.
Out of State Candidates
In case a candidate has certification in another jurisdiction, he will not be considered eligible by the authorities unless the Alaska Police Standards Council cancels the revocation of the certification or suspension.
Besides meeting the necessary requirements to be accepted in a police academy (which the candidates are highly advised to check with each department they are interested in), the applicants are also obliged to make the necessary arrangements for accommodations in certain cases.
For instance, the Police Academy of Anchorage is a non-residential academy that imposes an 11-hour training session spanning 4 days per week. Consequentially, the accepted cadets must provide their own transportation and living accommodations.
Click here to check out the various police officer jobs in Alaska.
Help in Paying for the Training
It is necessary to mention that not all programs under the Alaska Police Standards Council are free of charge. Nonetheless, if candidates need financial assistance for undergoing any of the paid courses or events associated with police training, they can turn to the APSC for help.
However, in order to get the financial assistance, the candidate must make sure that he is enrolled in an APSC approved academy and he must supply the written approval of the police agency’s head officer.
Click here for more information about becoming a police officer in Alaska.